March 16, 1934 (9th year of the Showa Era) – Photo of first class of graduates in front of administration building (currently the NCKU Museum) (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1931

Taiwan’s first technical college is born with a mission to industrialize Taiwan

In 1931, the Government-General of Taiwan under Japanese rule issued its first decree, which was to establish Tainan Technical College. It was the highest educational institution at the time and bore the important mission of promoting the industrialization of Taiwan!

During the school’s founding opening ceremony, the first president Wakatsuki Michitaka urged students to remain cool-headed, keep an open mind, be physically agile, be ready and willing to do things, and contribute to industries in Taiwan. This established the practical style of study at NCKU. Even during wartime, Tainan Technical College persevered.

Taiwan under Japanese rule was agriculture-oriented. To promote the popularization of industrial education, the Governor-General of Taiwan, Kamiyama Mitsunoshin, made a significant proposal to establish a technical college as soon as possible during the fifth council of the Government-General of Taiwan in October 1927. The college’s educational funding and the budget of another important construction project at the time, the resumption of the Sun Moon Lake hydroelectric power plant construction, were approved together. Considering the benefit of electrical power to the industrialization of Taiwan and future employment market demands, the college began with three departments, namely, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and applied chemistry, to cultivate professional talent for Taiwan.

The graduates cultivated by Tainan Technical College became the first batch of modern professional engineers in Taiwan. In the midst and the aftermath of war, they held their posts, applied what they learned, and facilitated the development of Taiwan’s industrial progress step by step.

1931 (6th year of the Showa Era) – First opening ceremony, held in front of the Physics and Chemistry Laboratory, the first building constructed in the college, which was completed in October, 1930 (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

First president, Wakatsuki Michitaka (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1933 (8th year of the Showa Era) – Boiler activated by President Wakatsuki, who created an institute for “cool-headed, open-minded, and physically agile” engineers (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1934年(昭和9年)3月16日-第一屆畢業生於行政大樓(今博物館)前合影(成博典藏)

1931

全臺第一所高等工業學校誕生,肩負臺灣工業化使命

1931年,日本臺灣總督府頒布第一號令,宣布設立「臺南高等工業學校」,時為臺灣工業教育的最高學府,肩負推動臺灣工業化的重大使命!

創校開學典禮中,首任校長若槻道隆,期勉學生要「頭冷胸寬腳敏」──秉持冷靜的頭腦、寬闊的心胸以及敏捷的手腳、勇於任事,為臺灣本島產業做出貢獻,也奠定成大人的務實學風。即便臺灣進入戰時的體制,「臺南高等工業學校」仍堅忍奠基。

日治前期的臺灣以農為本,為了推動實業教育的普及化,臺灣總督上山滿之進提出重要的建議,他在1927年10月總督府的第五次評議會,建議儘速設立工業相關的專門學校。學校的教育經費,與當時最重要的建設:日月潭水力發電工程復工預算同時通過,考量電力對臺灣工業化的助益與未來就業市場需求,校方分別設立機械工學科、電氣工學科、應用化學科這三科,為臺灣培育專業人才。

「臺南高等工業學校」培育出的畢業生,成為臺灣第一批近代專業工程師,在中日戰爭的硝煙中與二次大戰後的百廢待興中,堅守崗位,發揮專業所學,協助臺灣一步一腳印發展工業建設。

1931年(昭和6年)第一屆入學宣示典禮,於1930年10月完工之第一棟建築理化學實驗室舉行。(成博典藏 / 若槻道隆相簿)

第一任校長若槻道隆(成博典藏 / 若槻道隆相簿)

1933年(昭和8年)由若槻校長啟用鍋爐,打造「頭冷胸寬腳敏」工程師學校。 (成博典藏 / 若槻道隆相簿)