Official document sent by President Shih-An Want to National Resources Commission in 1948 (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1946

Factory internship system shapes NCKU’s pragmatic style of study

In 1945, the two atomic bombs detonated over Hiroshima and Nagasaki expedited the end of WWII, brought Japan’s 50 years of rule over Taiwan to an end, and also ended the days of conflagration that persisted late in WWII.

In January 1946, the Taiwan Provincial Administrative Executive Office hired Dr. Shih-An Wang to come to Taiwan and take over Tainan Technical College. He became the first post-war president, which was a difficult job, for many of the college’s buildings and equipment had been destroyed. The new school song conveyed their vision for the future, in which the atomic age would bring new changes every day and sophisticated academic study; people would take over heaven’s duties, create a myriad of treasures, love one another, and all prosper. President Shih-An Wang rebuilt the college’s buildings, purchased teaching and research equipment, and temporarily retained the Japanese teachers. At the same time, he frequently traveled to Beijing and Shanghai to hire professional teachers and restore Taiwan’s top technical college. As a result, Tainan Technical College was successfully upgraded to Taiwan Provincial College of Engineering in December.

In addition, to help students balance theory and practice, collaborations were established with the industry in the summer of 1946. In 1948, President Shih-An Wang sent an official request to the National Resources Commission to have all industrial and mining organizations under its jurisdiction, such as the Taiwan Railway Administration, Taipower Company, Taiwan Sugar Corporation, and Taiwan Fertilizer Company, offer internships to students. The Office of Academic Affairs set up the Off-campus Internship Division to take charge of relevant matters, and this shaped the pragmatic spirit of NCKU in the future.

In 1951, a detailed off-campus internship program was drafted, requiring students to intern at organizations off-campus for at least 6 months before graduating. They had to write daily internship reports and submit them weekly to be reviewed by instructors designated to each internship venue. With time, the required duration of internships was adjusted; however, this enabled students to experience different industries while still a student and establish good relationships with internship organizations. Some could even be recruited before they graduated. Today, NCKU is gradually transforming into a top research university. Its pragmatic spirit in conjunction with its professional research attitude has laid down the foundation for NCKUers to become corporate favorites.

Engineering students interning at electric machinery factory (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

Engineering students interning at electric machinery factory (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

Summer internship of Department of Mechanical Engineering (Provided by NCKU Black and White Photography Club)

Assists in establishment of CNS Standards and lays foundation for industrial development

1947

arrow-right

1948年,王石安校長發文給資源委員會的公文(成大文書組提供)

1946

工廠實習制度,形塑成大篤實學風

1945年廣島、長崎的兩顆原子彈,加速第二次世界大戰的結束,終止日本對臺灣長達50年的統治時期,也結束了從二戰後期烽火連天的歲月。

1946年元月,臺灣省行政長官公署聘任王石安博士來臺接收臺南工業專門學校,成為戰後首位校長,戰後治學不易,校舍與諸多實習設備損毀殆盡。王石安校長重建校舍、購入教學研究設備,暫時留用日籍校師的同時,更多次往返北京、上海,積極延聘專業師資,恢復臺灣最高工學院的水準,如同當年新校歌所唱出的未來願景:「原子時代日變遷,日新又新,學術貴精研,天工人代,寶藏與焉,愛人群,利普遍」,因而在12月順利升格為「臺灣省立工學院」。

另外,為了讓學生能兼顧理論與實作,自1946年暑假,就開始與實業界合作;1948年,王石安校長更發文給資源委員會,請求將其轄下所屬的工鑛機構,如台鐵、台電、台糖、台肥……,等機構,開放給學生實習,教務處更正式設置「校外實習組」主其事,這也奠定了日後成大務實的實作精神。

在1951年擬定詳實的校外實習計畫,要求學生畢業前必須在校外機構實習至少6個月,每日需撰寫實習報告書,每週呈交實習場所派定的指導人員評閱,爾後雖然實習長度有隨時代而調整,但,學生們也因此能在求學時期提前接觸不同產業,與實習機構建立良好關係,畢業前甚至就已經受到機構延攬。時至今日,成功大學逐漸蛻變為一流的研究型大學,務實的精神融會專業的研究態度,更奠定成大人成為「企業的最愛」的根基。

工學院學生在電機工廠實習(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自省立工學院45級畢冊)

工學院學生在電機工廠實習(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自省立工學院45級畢冊)

機械系暑假實習(成大黑白攝影社提供)

協助制定CNS國家標準,奠定產業發展基礎

1947

arrow-right