Engineering college teachers participating in drafting of CNS Standards (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1947

Assists in establishment of CNS Standards and lays foundation for industrial development

The Central Bureau of Standards under the Ministry of Economic Affairs is in charge of standardization in Taiwan. They issued the Regulations Governing the Establishment of National Standards to regulate metrology, national standards, and patent inspection in Taiwan. After the retrocession of Taiwan, Japanese standards were being used in Taiwan, which were different from Chinese standards. The disarray of measurement standards reflected a pressing need for consistent national standards, which became the most urgent task for the Central Bureau of Standards in 1947.

Every day without standards exerted a significant impact on people’s lives and various industries. Just as the Central Bureau of Standards was in desperate need of professional industrial talent, the teachers at the Taiwan Provincial College of Engineering came to the rescue. Many professors in fields such as mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, chemical engineering, mining and metallurgy, and civil engineering, including Shih-An Wang, Da-Jun Qing, Chen-Chiu Ma, and Yun-Ping Lo, played crucial roles in the establishment of the CNS Standards needed for national industrial progress.

With the help of the many, the 12th issue of “Standards” was successfully released in late 1950. This was also the first publication made by the Central Bureau of Standards after printing resumed in Taiwan. The standards included 179 national standards in mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, chemical engineering, agriculture, mining and metallurgy, and civil engineering and became crucial standards for Taiwan’s industrial and economic development.

Chinese industrial standards (CNS) No. 1 issued on June 6, 1944 (Provided by Ching-Hui Chu)

Chinese process standard conversion table (CNS) No.37 issued in May, 1950 (Provided by Ching-Hui Chu)

The 12th issue of “Standards”, the first publication made by the Central Bureau of Standards after printing resumed in Taiwan, released in December 1950 (Provided by Ching-Hui Chu)

arrow-left

1946

Factory internship system shapes NCKU’s pragmatic style of study

Builds foundation for land surveying in coordination with national development

1950

arrow-right

參與CNS標準起草的工學院老師(成博製表排版)

1947

協助制定CNS國家標準,奠定產業發展基礎

「經濟部中央標準局」負責執行我國標準化工作,並公布「國家標準制定辦法」規範全國的度量衡、國家標準與專利審查。光復後,因當時臺灣使用的日本標準,與中國標準不同,各種度量衡規範紊亂,急需釐清並公布統一的國家標準,成為1947年「經濟部中央標準局」最急迫的工作。

標準延宕的每一日,對民生與各項產業影響極大,正當中央標準局急需工業專業人才,臺灣省立工學院的專業師資猶如及時雨,從機械工業、電氣工業、化學工業、鑛冶工業和土木工業等領域有包含王石安、秦大鈞、馬承九、羅雲平等多位教授參與,為國家工業進步所需的國家標準的制定,扮演極為重要的角色。

1950年底,在眾人的齊心協助下,《標準》第12期刊物順利發布,這也是經濟部中央標準局在臺灣恢復印行的第一本刊物,規範包括機械、電工、化工、農業、鑛冶、土木等179種國家標準,成為臺灣工業與經濟發展的重要標準。

1944年6月6日公佈之中國工業標準(CNS)No.1(褚晴暉提供)

1950年5月公佈中國工藝標準換算表(CNS)No.37(褚晴暉提供)

1950年12月中央標準局在臺恢復之第一本刊物 「標準」第12期(褚晴暉提供)

arrow-left

1946

工廠實習制度,形塑成大篤實學風

配合國家發展,為全臺國土測量奠定基礎

1950

arrow-right