Students using the Parshall Flume to take profile images of fluid (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1950

Joint Foundation of Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory and First Harbor Engineering Model in Taiwan

Early in the 19th century, hydraulic engineering became an emerging science that used accurate model tests to verify water flow problems and theories and ensure the quality and effectiveness of future construction. In 1950, the National Hydraulic Research Institute of the Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA) respectively worked with National Taiwan University and the Taiwan Provincial Tainan Junior College of Technology to found a hydraulics laboratory in Northern Taiwan and one in Southern Taiwan. The two schools allocated offices and personnel, whereas the National Hydraulic Research Institute provided the equipment and printed resources.

The Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory is located south of the Civil Engineering Building. While unremarkable on the outside, its interior is exceptional. There are no columns, forming a spacious hall, 30×12 m2 in area and 4.6 m in height, for various hydraulic engineering model tests. (This building is now the Historical Gallery of the Department of Civil Engineering, and the building itself is listed as a cultural asset for preservation)

Since its foundation, the Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory has hosted a multitude of experiments and studies regarding hydraulic engineering problems, served as a venue for teaching and practicum in civil engineering, and even undertaken cooperative education projects with the industry to aid in various hydraulic engineering works throughout Taiwan. For instance, the Laboratory worked with the Keelung Harbor Bureau on its outer harbor expansion project in 1957 and constructed a 1/100 model of the outer harbor for tests. This was the first successful experiment completed based on the model scaling theorem in Eastern Asia outside of Japan and was the first successful harbor engineering model test in Taiwan.

The Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory has thus also become a pioneer in hydraulic model research. In the following years, the Laboratory has coordinated with national economic development, solved various problems, assisted in the completion of major hydraulic and marine engineering projects, and protected the lives and home safety of people in Taiwan.

Water flow experiments in Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory (Provided by the NCKU Museum / TPCE Catalogue 1955-1956)

Director Hsu of Keelung Harbor Bureau inspecting outer harbor model tests in person (Provided by Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory)

Exterior of Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory in 1955 (Provided by the NCKU Museum / 1955 Yearbook of Taiwan Provincial Tainan Junior College of Technology)

arrow-left

1950

Builds foundation for land surveying in coordination with national development

學生運用巴歇爾水槽(Parshall Flume)進行「流體側面圖像測定」(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自秦大鈞校長照片)

1950

合建臺南水工試驗室,開創臺灣港工模型第一例

19世紀初,水工試驗成為新興科學,以精確模型試驗,用以應證水流問題與學理,確保未來施工的品質與成效。1950年,經濟部中央水利實驗處分別與臺灣大學和省立工學院合作,由學校撥借辦公室、調用人員,中央水利實驗處提供設備與圖書,於臺灣南北兩處,設立水工試驗室。

座落於土木工程館南側「臺南水工試驗室」,外表不起眼,內部是令人難忘,沒有任何支柱、長寬達30×12㎡,高4.6m的寬敞大廳,方便進行各種水利工程模型試驗。(如今此處已成為土木系系史館,建築列管成文化資產保存)

自成立以來,除辦理各種水工模型試驗、研究有關水利工程的問題,作為土木系教學與實習場場域,更以建教合作的模式承接業界計畫,協助臺灣各種建設中的水利工程問題。例如,1957年與基隆港務局合作外港擴建工程的模型試驗,以1/100縮尺鋪設基隆外港模型,是日本以外,東亞地區第一個依照模型縮尺定理所完成的試驗,開創臺灣港工模型試驗的第一個成功事例。

臺南水工試驗所也因此成為水工模型研究的先行者,在爾後的歲月,配合國家經建發展,解決各種困難,協助重大水利與海洋工程的完成,守護臺灣人的生命與居家安全。

水工實驗室水流試驗(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自TPCE Catalogue 1955-1956)

基隆外港模型試驗徐局長蒞臨視察(成大水工試驗所提供)

1955年臺南水工試驗室外觀(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自省立工學院44級畢冊)

arrow-left

1950

配合國家發展,為全臺國土測量奠定基礎