1952 Surveying camp at Hu-Tou Pei (Provided by family of Hui-Shun Shih)

1950

Builds foundation for land surveying in coordination with national development

The most important start for the national construction projects and economic development was a detailed topographic map. When the Nationalist government relocated to Taiwan, the aeronautical survey team of the Ministry of Water Resources brought with them 10 wooden crates, which by then had lain unused for many years. In 1951, Professor Hui-Shun Shih at the Taiwan Provincial College of Engineering signed a contract to temporarily borrow the crates. When opened, they contained precious rectifiers, multiplexes, and cartographic cameras, their market value over USD ten thousand at the time. These instruments became the start of survey education at the Department of Civil Engineering in the Taiwan Provincial College of Engineering and of the land surveying of Taiwan.

Professor Hui-Shun Shih led a survey team and began accepting commissions from various parties. With precise planimetry as the foundation of national construction projects, their largest commission involved the development of tidal flats spanning from Dayuan, Taoyuan, to Xingda Port, Kaohsiung. Over 200 students participated in this project, completing aerial mosaics of 2,268 square kilometers of tidal flats and a 1/5000 aerial topographic mosaic of the area from Yunlin to Kaohsiung, which contributed significantly to Taiwan’s infrastructure.

These extraordinary achievements greatly impressed the visiting chief advisor of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations in Rome, who then donated a Zeiss Stereo-Plannigraph C8. The addition of this aerial survey instrument significantly enhanced their capabilities. They later took part in the site survey for the Tsengwen Dam and assisted in aerial survey work for National Freeway No. 1 and the Taoyuan International Airport, two of the Ten Major Construction Projects. People from Taiwan Provincial College of Engineering were also involved in the surveys of National Freeway No. 3, nuclear power plants, the Port of Taichung, and Nanzi Processing Export Zone. It could therefore be said that they are the surveying pioneers who laid the foundation for major national construction projects.

As they surveyed land throughout Taiwan in step with national development, Professor Hui-Shun Shih found original cadastral maps from the Japanese period. An US air raid had burned down the Government-General building, and local land offices were using copies that had many holes and thus led to constant land boundary disputes. Their accuracy was open to question, and they were bound to affect Taiwan’s future development. Professor Shih therefore presented a report to then Executive Yuan Premier, Chiang Ching-Kuo to first perform a cadastral aerial survey of Tainan and then launch three large-scale survey tasks throughout Taiwan: inspect triangulation points throughout Taiwan, set triangulation benchmarks for topographic maps to accelerate remapping, and complete the Aerial Mosaic of Taiwan to provide a firm foundation for national land surveys. At the same time, efforts made by people from Taiwan Provincial College of Engineering also contributed to urban planning maps for local governments such as Tainan, Taipei, Taichung, and Chiayi.

From 1950 to 2010, NCKU’s survey team upheld the teachings of Professor Shih: “Truth, competence, and perfection are the criteria of surveying.” Pursue true values in survey data, handle them competently, and aim for perfection. NCKUers are not afraid of hard work. Traveling high and low, they have completed half a century of land surveying and slowly produced the most precise foundation for Taiwan’s economic and urban development.

1961 Professor Hui-Shun Shih doing surveying and mapping work of tidal flats (Provided by Hui-Shun Shih)

1951 Surveying and mapping using aerial survey instruments (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

1971 Working with Wild A8 stereoplotter (Provided by the NCKU Museum)

arrow-left

1947

Assists in establishment of CNS Standards and lays foundation for industrial development

Joint Foundation of Tainan Hydraulics Laboratory and First Harbor Engineering Model in Taiwan

1950

arrow-right

1952年虎頭埤測量總實習(史惠順家人提供)

1950

配合國家發展,為全臺國土測量奠定基礎

推動國家建設與經濟發展,最重要的起步就是一張「詳盡確實的地形圖」。當年隨國民政府遷臺、水利部水利航空測量隊的10個木箱,在塵封多時後,1951年由臺灣省立工學院的史惠順教授簽約「暫時借用」,開箱取出珍貴的糾正儀、多倍製圖儀、複照儀等儀器,當時市價高達10多萬美金,成為成大土木系測量教學與協助臺灣國土測量的起點。

史惠順教授帶領的成大測量團隊,從1950年開始接受各方委託,以精確的平面測量作為國家建設的根本,其中最大規模的是「海埔地開發」,自桃園大園到高雄興達港之間,共有兩百多位學生參與,完成高達2,268平方公里的海埔地航測鑲嵌圖的施測,與雲林到高雄間的1/5000航測鑲嵌地形圖,成為臺灣基礎建設幕後的重要推手。

上述優異的成果,讓來臺視察的聯合國羅馬糧農組織首席顧問大為佩服,主動捐贈精密的「蔡司一等立體測圖儀 Zeiss Stereo-Planigraph C8」,有了這臺航測儀加入,如虎添翼,先後參與了曾文水庫壩址的施測、協助十大建設中有關中山高速公路與桃園國際機場的航測工作;後續的第二高速公路、核電廠、臺中港、楠梓加工出口區的量測也都有成大人的身影,可說是替國家重要建設打底的測量先鋒。

伴隨國家發展軌跡,量測各方土地的同時,史惠順教授發現日治時期的地籍圖原圖,在美軍轟炸總督府時被燒毀,各地政單位使用的僅是副本,上面有許多破洞,土地界址糾紛不斷,精確度有待商榷,勢必影響臺灣未來發展。因此,史教授向當時的行政院蔣經國院長提出報告,先為臺南作第一次地籍航測,並後續展開全臺三大測量工作:從全臺「三角點」檢測,定下地形圖繪製的三角測量基準點,以便加快地籍圖重測,完成「全臺航測鑲嵌圖」,為國土測量奠定了重大的基礎。同時也為各縣市政府施測「都市計畫圖」,包括臺南、臺北、臺中、嘉義等城市都有成大人默默努力的身影。

從1950到2010年,成大測量隊秉持史教授的教誨:「以真善美做為測量準繩。」追求測量資料的真實,處理的完善,與成果的完美,成大人不畏辛勞,上山下海,以堅忍的毅力完成長達半世紀的國土測量,一步一腳印為臺灣經濟與都市發展量測出最精確的底稿。

1961年史惠順教授於海埔新生地進行測繪工作(史惠順提供)

1951年於航測儀器進行繪測工作(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自國立成功大學校史記要初編) 

1971年以威特A8精密航測製圖儀工作(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自成大概況60、61學年度) 

arrow-left

1947

協助制定CNS國家標準,奠定產業發展基礎

合建臺南水工試驗室,開創臺灣港工模型第一例

1950

arrow-right