The Main Library completed construction in 1959 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum)

1959

Built in 1959, the Main Library had instilled humanistic knowledge to students of prior generations

Libraries play a fundamental role in a university. Upon cooperation with Purdue University in 1952, NCKU started to renew and expand buildings and school facilities with U.S. subsidies. Over that period, the Mian Library, a swimming pool, a dormitory for overseas Chinese students, the Activity Center, and a dormitory for professors from Purdue University were built, offering a completely different space and view for college students in southern Taiwan in the 1960s. This also helped to facilitate the knowledge transfer process.

Upon its completion in 1959, the Main Library has played a vital role in developing global perspectives. With only a 30000-volume collection in 1953, the Main Library housed over 90000 books in 1962. In the shelves were the latest science, technology, and engineering textbooks, as well as western classics and publications of social science research. The latest international journals and books have immensely improved professional knowledge, fostered learning, and cultivated competencies among students at NCKU.

The voluminous collections and spacious study rooms have served as gateways to knowledge for students and faculty alike. The scene of many students waking up early to go to the library was a widely known anecdote for many locals. The newly built library has created a perfect reading environment in NCKU, as the Main Library has played an equally important role as classrooms in cultivating humanistic knowledge among students. Between 1959 and 2001, the old Main Library had given access to books and resources for our faculty and students alike so they were able to widen their horizons.

The groundbreaking ceremony of the new library convened by the then president Da-Jun Qin in 1956 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum)

The Activity Center built when we were closely bonded with Purdue University (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum)

A lot of students waited in a long queue outside the newly built Main Library (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1966)

挑高敞亮新總圖,讓成大學生爭先入館(第55級畢冊-成大博物館提供)

1959-03

普渡時期所興建的活動中心(成大博物館提供)

arrow-left

1956

The college was upgraded to Taiwan Provincial Cheng Kung University in 1956, showing its higher research capacity

1959年落成的總圖書館(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自徐立夫相本)

1959

總圖書館落成,成為孕育人文知識的殿堂

圖書館是大學的精神堡壘,1952年展開與普渡大學的合作後,因美援經費的挹注,成功大學校園建築與設施陸續增設,期間興建的總圖書館、游泳池、僑生宿舍、活動中心、普渡顧問宿舍區……,對六○年代的南臺灣學子而言,是截然不同的空間尺度與感受,知識的涵養也因為空間而改變。

尤其是1959年落成的總圖書館,更扮演了開啟國際視野的角色,館內的藏書量從1953年的3萬冊起跳,到1962年已高達九萬多冊,除大量最新的理工科教科書外,更包含西洋文學名著,及社會科學類書藉。這些國際最先進的期刊與書籍,提升成大學生的整體知識量,累積而成本科專業與人文底蘊的底氣。

大量的藏書與挑高敞亮的閱讀空間,成為學生自修學習的重要場所,讓成大師生求知若渴,學生爭先入館的畫面堪稱當時的佳話,成大的閱讀風氣也因為圖書館的誕生而興盛,成為課堂外,孕育人文知識的殿堂。從1959年到2001年,(舊)總圖書館默默陪伴每一位師生,透過書扉提升眼界與格局、開啟通往世界的窗!

1956年美國普渡大學顧問進行總圖書館破土儀式(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自秦大鈞校長照片)

普渡時期所興建的活動中心(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自徐立夫相本)

挑高敞亮新總圖,讓成大學生爭先入館(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自55級畢冊)

挑高敞亮新總圖,讓成大學生爭先入館(第55級畢冊-成大博物館提供)

1959-03

普渡時期所興建的活動中心(成大博物館提供)

arrow-left

1956

升格為「臺灣省立成功大學」,提升學研實力