A group of students of the Dept. of Chinese Literature were taking a picture at Banyan Park (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum
/ the class book of class 1978)

1966

Built in 1966, NCKU Guangfu Campus Has Been Developing Free Spirited Students with Abilities to Think Critically

Considering that good campus environments help to create a positive learning climate, NCKU decided to plan the Guangfu Campus addition in 1966, so that the university could be home to more new colleges and departments and offer a spacious environment for these young learners. As the College of Liberal Arts and College of Business were located in this new campus, the students with majors of liberal arts and business management began to bring a different vibe to the university.

Compared to two other campuses, the Guangfu Campus boasts more outdoor spaces and a tranquil atmosphere. Since the completion of this campus, many students have been found taking a leisurely walk along the lake, contemplating under a tree or passing through the Minor West Gate, or discussing high-stakes topics on the lawn of Banyan Park. All NCKU students have enjoyed freedom and become independent thinkers under this circumstance since decades ago.

Due to the limited budget, the university decided to dig out a lot of earth surrounding the College of Liberal Arts (currently the building which houses the Dept. of History) so as to start the earthworks of a playground in 1970. The results were pretty satisfactory when the playground on the Guangfu Campus was successfully built, and a beautiful lake was renovated in front of the College of Liberal Arts for all to enjoy.

The spacious Guangfu Campus has brought positive energy to the university while helping students to be ambitious and open-minded and able to think critically. Our alumni have participated in industries and activities that contribute to society over the years.

The land was retrieved by Mr. Wan-Yuan Huang and used for the Guangfu Campus in 1966 (Picture by courtesy of Ms. Bi-Hsiu Huang)

An event held by the Dept. of Business Administration. The place where students danced together was turned into Cheng Kung Lake years later. (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1973)

Students at Cheng Kung Lake in 1973 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1973)

NCKU was the first university that tried to preserve cultural heritage by moving the Minor West Gate to a new location in 1970

1970

arrow-right

中文系學生於榕園留影(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自67級畢冊)

1966

光復校區涵養自由學風,啟發獨立思考與思辨

校園環境對學習有潛移默化的影響,1966年成功大學接收光復校區,為學校新設學院與科系,提供更廣闊的學習空間。而進駐光復校區的文學院與商學院學生,也讓學校的整體組成與校園風氣產生變化。

擁有許多開放戶外空間的光復校區,若跟成功、勝利兩個校區相較,空間氛圍顯得更加靜謐。常常能看見學生自在悠遊其中,無論在樹下獨自沉思、於湖畔散步隨想、冥思穿越小西門,或是與三五好友在榕園的草地上高談闊論,自由思辨的氣息,影響著一代又一代的成大人。

1970年,闢建光復操場需要大量土方填埋低窪地勢,學校為樽節開支,於是將光復校區文學院(今歷史系館)前挖土成池,不僅順利闢建光復操場,更為校園創造出另一處湖光優美的靜謐空間。

光復校區創造了一個更開闊,也更具有人文氣息的校園,涵養自由學風,啟發獨立思考與思辨,也因此陶冶出更具開闊格局的成大人,投身社會,貢獻一己之力。

1966年黃萬源接收光復校區(成博蒐集整理 / 翻拍自62級畢冊)

企管系活動,學生共舞的地方就是後來的成功湖。(成博蒐集整理 / 翻拍自62級畢冊)

1973年成功湖畔的學生(成博蒐集整理 / 翻拍自62級畢冊)

率風氣之先,保留小西門,啟動大學對文化資產的保護行動

1970

arrow-right