Students riding a scooter in front of the Minor West Gate in 1980 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1980)

1970

NCKU was the first university that tried to preserve cultural heritage by moving the Minor West Gate to a new location in 1970

In 1982, Taiwan’s government promulgated the Cultural Heritage Preservation Act in response to the global trend of cultural heritage preservation while showing its determination to better protect cultural sites and monuments. Yet prior to the promulgation of the law, NCKU had already taken the initiative to preserve an invaluable site in the 1960s.

One of the big challenges facing urban area expansion is how to preserve cultural sites. In 1967, Tainan City Government decided to demolish the Minor West Gate Fengjia Road for road expansion. On hearing this, some professors and students of the Dept. of History and Architecture took immediate action while the then president Yun-Ping Luo, an expert in urban planning, arranged a meeting with the authorities in charge. After a series of discussions with the then mayor Hsi-shan Lin (an alumni of NCKU), who was also an expert in architecture, the city government finally gave permission two years later. And NCKU put efforts to move and re-establish this gate in the Guangfu Campus.

In 1970, the Minor West Gate was successfully moved to the formerly city walls encircling the Minor East Gate, which was built with traditional rammed earth techniques during the Qianlong reign of Qing dynasty and was a construction masterpiece as the city walls were perfectly joined by the city gate. These notable efforts were not only meant to preserve the sites of historic significance, but also showed NCKU’s determination to preserve more cultural heritages as a way to honor the glory of Tainan, the once prefectural capital centuries ago.

Campus scene: the Minor West Gate in 1981 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum/ the class book of class 1981)

Campus scene: the Minor West Gate in 1983 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1983)

Students of the Dept. of Chemical Engineering in front of the Minor West Gate in 1985 (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1985)

arrow-left

1966

Built in 1966, NCKU Guangfu Campus Has Been Developing Free Spirited Students with Abilities to Think Critically

1980年學生騎機車於小西門前(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自69級畢冊)

1970

率風氣之先,保留小西門,啟動大學對文化資產的保護行動

為保存文化資產,並呼應國際間對文化資產的保護趨勢,臺灣自1982年公布施行《文化資產保存法》。早於政府頒訂法規前,成功大學已率風氣之先,於1960年代啟動對歷史古蹟的搶救與保護。

隨著城市發展,都市的擴張與建設,往往會與古蹟的保護產生衝突。1967年臺南市政府為了拓寬道路,決定拆除座落於逢甲路的小西門,聽聞此事,歷史系與建築系師生積極為小西門奔走,具都市計畫專業的羅雲平校長也協助派員與市府溝通,經歷數次與當時林錫山市長(成大建築系校友)的溝通,終於在1969年取得同意,開始一磚一瓦紀錄搬遷,並重築於光復校區。

1970年小西門順利遷址,坐落於原本小東門城門遺址的城垣遺跡上,這座清乾隆時期,以「三合土傳統夯土工法」築成的城牆,古城與舊城垣一氣呵成,守住見證先民歲月的歷史遺跡,也展開成大對文化資產的保護行動,對臺南古城的追憶與護持。

1981年小西門校景(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自70級畢冊)

1983年小西門校景(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自72級畢冊)

1985年化工系學生於小西門前留影(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自74級畢冊)

arrow-left

1966

光復校區涵養自由學風,啟發獨立思考與思辨能力