Interns working at the station oversee by the Dept. of Transportation and Communication Management Science (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum)

1971

Upgraded to National Cheng Kung University, Committed to Develop Talent Across Industries

During the 1960s, Taiwan had done everything possible to develop labor-intensive industries, as “living rooms as factories” was promoted as a way to manufacture exported goods. There had been a steady rise in export trade and gross national income every year. It was the take-off stage of economic growth in Taiwan. In the 1970s, the government began to execute Ten Major Construction Projects. A vast range of transport infrastructure composed of constructions of freeways, railways, airports, harbors and ports, and power networks were underway, besides the rapid development of the petrochemical and steel industries.

With rapid development taking place in all industrial sectors, NCKU alumni were actively engaged in many of the major infrastructures in land, air, and sea transport. The construction of Sun Yat-sen Freeway, Taoyuan Airport, and Taichung Port was in large part dependent on the alumni of the departments of “civil engineering,” “transportation and communication management science”, and “hydraulic and ocean engineering.” The alumni of the Department of Chemical Engineering made contributions to the petrochemical industry and derivatives industries, such as plastic manufacturing. The alumni with majors in mechanical engineering or electrical engineering also proved to be valuable assets to many shipyards and steel mills across Taiwan.

In 1971, the provincial university was upgraded to National Cheng Kung University, which has aimed to develop more top talent and professionals across all fields in Taiwan. Seeing the rapid pace of urbanization, NCKU decided to become the first ever university that founds the Department of Urban Planning before the graduate institute of aeronautical geomatics was founded in 1976 in the hope of developing professional workers specialized in land mapping and surveying across Taiwan. Then the Department of Geomatics was founded in 1978, as NCKU intended to develop more professionals who have the abilities to tackle environmental issues arisen from rapid development of urban areas. In 1976, the Dept. of Environmental Engineering was created out of the former Sanitary Engineering Group of the Dept. of Civil Engineering in 1976. Faced with the unprecedented economic growth in Taiwan, NCKU has been putting forth endeavors to develop talent across all industries so Taiwan will become even more prosperous in the seeable future.

The documentation issued for upgradation of NCKU (Picture by courtesy of Documentation Division, NCKU)

The centralized traffic control system developed by the Dept. of Transportation and Communication Management Science (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum/ Overview of NCKU in school years 1971 and 1972)

Interns working at the office of the Dept. of Transportation and Communication Management Science (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum / the class book of class 1971)

A World-class Hydraulic Model Test Laboratory was Set Up for Construction of Water Infrastructure in 1972

1972

arrow-right

交通管理學系站場操作實習(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自成大概況60、61學年度)

1971

升格國立成功大學,為國家培育多元專業人才

1960年代,臺灣致力於發展勞動密集產業,全臺可見「客廳即工廠」、全民拼外銷的畫面,出口金額與國民年所得年年攀升,帶動臺灣經濟起飛。1970年代,政府推出「十大建設」,興建高速公路、鐵路、機場、港口、電力等基礎建設外,積極發展石化、鋼鐵等產業。

當各項基礎建設如火如荼展開,成大人發揮所長,從陸海空各面向協助參與臺灣重大建設。第一中山高速公路、桃園機場、臺中港的建設,有土木系、交管系與水利系校友努力的身影;化工系的成大人則投身石油化學工業,與衍生的塑膠產業;機械工程與電機工程系畢業的成大人也在造船廠、大煉鋼廠等領域戮力以赴,為臺灣各項建設,貢獻一己之力。

成大於1971年升格為「國立成功大學」,肩負起為國家培育更多專業領域人才的使命。當臺灣面臨快速的都市化,成大於1971年開全臺首例,成立「都市計劃學系」培育都市規劃人才,1976年成立「航空測量研究所」,培養航空測量人才,參與全臺地籍重新航測工作,並於1978年增設「測量工程學系」;為解決都市急遽發展衍生出的環境議題,1976年將土木系衛工組獨立成「環境工程學系」。在臺灣急速成長的過程中,成功大學持續因應國家發展對專業人才的需求,培育多元的優秀人才,成為陪伴臺灣同行的中流砥柱!

升格為國立成功大學的公文(成大文書組提供)

交通管理學系中央行車控制(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自成大概況60、61學年度)

交通管理學系實習(成博蒐集整理,非典藏 / 翻拍自60級畢冊)

創建世界級模型試驗場,運籌水域經濟建設

1972

arrow-right