The founding director, Kun-Yen Huang, planted the tree (Photo credit: Miao-Shu Chung)

1981

In 1981, NCKU Sought to Set up a Medical School and a Hospital and Promotes Fourteen Major Construction Projects in southern Taiwan

In the 1970s, one of the key government policies was to fill the healthcare divide between northern and southern Taiwan. It was also a fervent wish for all at NCKU and inhabitants of southern Taiwan to establish a medical school and a teaching hospital. Once President Han-Min Xia was in office, he consulted experts and presented a well-thought-out plan about setting up a medical college. In 1981, NCKU College of Medicine and an affiliated teaching hospital were established on approval of the Executive Yuan. This was among the Fourteen Major Construction Projects at that time.

In response to President Xia’s earnest request, Prof. Kun-Yen Huang returned to Taiwan to help arrange affairs relating to setting up NCKU College of Medicine in 1982. Everything from the construction of medical buildings to the recruitment of top talent was taken in charge by Prof. Huang, who had successfully convinced many respected professors who taught at medical schools in northern Taiwan to serve at NCKU College of Medicine. In 1983, the medical school recruited its first batch of students for the post baccalaureate medicine. The incumbent Vice President of Taiwan, Lai Ching-Te, was enrolled in the post baccalaureate medicine program after it was started three years ago. In the spring of 1984, the first batch of freshmen was admitted to the Dept. of Medicine. In 1988, the teaching hospital started to operate. The NCKU College of Medicine is the first ever medical school that shares the same campus with other departments of a comprehensive university. An overarching curriculum and faculty diversity help to instill humanistic understanding and compassion in students at NCKU College of Medicine. It has been our mission to develop highly competent and compassionate doctors for people of southern Taiwan.

A motto by the founding director Kun-Yen Huang was “Go all the way, or don’t go at all.” Dr. Huang had overcome many obstacles in the years as he spared no efforts to build a medical center in southern Taiwan. His endeavors and dedication has yielded notable results in clinical medicine, prospective study, and talent cultivation, in addition to seeking progress and excellence, fulfilling a college’s social responsibility, and seeking the common good in society. The hospital has adhered to the principles: “life, love, excellence, creativity,” recruiting a group of health professionals in clinical medicine, public health, and cross-technologies and taking every measure to fulfil its social responsibility of helping patients with acute condition or with serious or complicated illnesses, or rare diseases. Faced with the outbreak of viruses or any incidents over the decades: from the outbreak of Enterovirus in1998, SARS in 2003, the occurrences of dengue in 2015, an earthquake in 2016, to the coronavirus outbreak in 2020, NCKU Hospital has always been staying in the front line, ensuring the public’s health and safety and showing the spirit of the “Tree of Life” to society as a whole.

In 1981, the party was held after the groundbreaking ceremony. Front is the mini model of the college of Medicine. The then president Dt. Han-Min Xia (Picture by courtesy of National Cheng Kung University Hospital)

In 1987, the then premier Kuo-Huan Yu arrived in the construction center of the medical center to see the progress of the construction. (Picture by courtesy of National Cheng Kung University Hospital)

National Cheng Kung University Hospital was completed construction in 1988. (Picture by courtesy of the National Cheng Kung University Museum)

In 1987, an Aerospace Science Research Center Was Set up to Ensure National Defense Systems

1987

arrow-right

創院院長黃崑巖親手植樹(鍾淼書攝)

1981

爭取創設醫學院與醫院,成就國家14大建設

北部醫療資源豐沛,如何提升南臺灣的醫療水準,平衡南北醫療差距是國家重要的政策方向;而就近在嘉南地區設立醫學院與醫院,更是成大人與南臺灣民眾多年的夙願。夏漢民校長上任後積極爭取籌設醫學院的機會,1981年,奉行政院核准設立醫學院,暨附設醫院,更被列為國家14項重大經建計劃。

在夏漢民校長的宏願感召下,1982年黃崑巖教授返臺,協助籌設醫學院,從一磚一瓦中築起高樓,更積極向外延攬人才,許多原本服務於北部醫學院的一流師資,受黃崑巖院長的熱忱感動而南下,成為成大醫學院堅強的後盾。1983年,獨立招收第一屆學士後醫學系新生,賴清德副總統就是第3屆入學的。1984年春,第一批醫學系新生入學,1988年附設醫院正式啟用。成大醫學院是國內第一所位於綜合大學校園內的醫學院,師資及課程安排更加多元,重視醫學院學生的人文素養,期勉以醫者之心,服務南臺灣民眾,完成國家所賦予的時代使命。

創院院長黃崑巖秉持著「不想走完不啟程(Go all the way, or don’t go at all.)」的態度,克服種種困難,一肩扛起臺灣南部醫學中心的重任。如今,不論是臨床醫療、前瞻研究或人才培育,持續精進、追求卓越。同時也發揮大學的社會責任與共好精神,秉持「生命、愛心、卓越、創新」的核心精神,整合臨床、公共衛生、跨域技術等專家,勇於承擔「急症、重症、難症、罕見疾病」之社會照護責任,在臺灣社會面臨重大事件時,及時提供奧援,例如1998年腸病毒、2003年SARS、2015年登革熱、2016年○二○六地震救援乃至2020年的新冠肺炎,面對疾病與災厄,成大始終站在前線,守護民眾健康,將醫學院的「生命之樹」精神,延伸到整個社會。

1981年醫學院動土典禮後舉行酒會,前方可見醫學院模型,右一為夏漢民校長(成大醫學院提供)

1987年行政院長俞國華蒞臨醫學中心工地視察14大建設施工進度(成大醫學院提供)

1988年成大醫學院完工(成大醫學院提供)

建立航空太空實驗場,提升國防自主戰力

1987

arrow-right