The Magic School of Green Technologies promoting energy-saving and carbon reduction (Courtesy of CommonWealth Magazine)

1993

The Research and Development Foundation was founded in 1993, intiating a new model of cooperation between academia and industry

In 1993, during a period of ever-increasing cooperation between industry and academia, the Ministry of Economic Affairs and the Ministry of Education approved the establishment of the Research and Development Foundation by NCKU to facilitate its cooperative education.

The Foundation came into being before the University Endowment Fund system was established, so any financial surpluses of cooperative education, commonly known as industry-academia collaboration, had to be surrendered to the national treasury each year. Consequently, NCKU failed to leverage these surpluses as a resource for its operations as well as to secure additional subsidies from the Ministry of Education (MOE) in the following year. The establishment of the Foundation for the management of a portion of the cooperative education projects helped to lessen the budgetary burdens for these projects and hedge against potential decreases in the MOE subsidies.

In addition, bidding on public sector projects at the time was restricted to qualified corporations, excluding the participation of NCKU’s talented faculty and student researchers. Consequently, the NCKU vice presidents of Academic Affairs and the Office of Research and Development at the time Cheng-I Weng and Hung-Shan Weng, respectively, urged then-University president Jer-Ru Maa to create the Research and Development Foundation.

Shortly after the establishment of the Research and Development Foundation, NCKU built a platform for industry and academia cooperation with an annual fund amounting to 2 to 3 hundred million NT dollars. The Foundation was the starting point for cooperation between industry, academia, and the government, providing opportunities for faculty and students to not only gain practical experience but also to hone their research capabilities. While promoting the development of the national economy and industry, the cooperative projects also protected Taiwan’s environmental resources. For example, between 1990 and 2018, the foundation started a Ministry of Economic Affairs subsidies program to incentivize the promotion of solar water heating systems and the contracting of the operations thereof; from 2004, the Foundation worked with the Executive Yuan’s Environmental Protection Administration’s Environmental Professionals Training Institute to hone the technical skills of environmental professionals in pollution prevention and the maintenance of environmental security.

In 2011, the Research and Development Foundation along with Delta Electronics Foundation chairman Bruce C.H. Cheng made donations for the construction of the Sun Yun-Suan Green Building, the first zero-carbon building in Taiwan, for the Magic School of Green Technologies at NCKU. The construction involved 13 kinds of green architectural designs, resulting in 65% energy conservation and 51.7% lower carbon emissions than a general office consumption. As a result, the building became the first educational building in Asia to have received a platinum rating from LEED. Also, it has been used as the office building for the Research and Development Foundation. Keeping in mind the United Nations’ sustainable development goals, the Foundation works to carry out its responsibilities to make improvements in the world.

The official document issued in 1993 approving the establishment of the NCKU Research and Development Foundation (Courtesy of the NCKU Research and Development Foundation)

The groundbreaking ceremony for the construction of the Magic School of Green Technologies in 1999. (Courtesy of the NCKU Research and Development Foundation)

The inscription by founding chairman Jer-Ru Maa (right) as a gift to the Foundation in 2011 (Courtesy of the NCKU Research and Development Foundation)

Admission of international students into NCKU in 1995, furthering its international reach

1995

arrow-right

節能減碳的綠色魔法學校(天下雜誌提供)

1993

研發基金會創立,開啟產學合作新模式

在產學合作方興未艾的時代,1993年,「財團法人成大研究發展基金會」獲經濟部和教育部核准設立,以協助學校推動建教合作工作為宗旨。

「基金會」誕生於校務基金制度尚未建立的年代,建教合作現多稱為「產學合作」的盈餘必須每年繳回國庫,無法成為學校營運的資源,也無法讓隔年教育部的補助增加;成立基金會負責管理部份建教合作計畫,相對可減少校方預算書上建教合作計畫經費的金額,從而避免教育部減少對本校的補助款。

再加上當時公部門的計畫案,需有財團法人資格才能競標,讓學研實力俱佳的成大師生一再錯失良機,因此時任教務長翁政義與研發會執行長的翁鴻山,極力敦促馬哲儒校長成立研究發展基金會。

研究發展基金會成立後,串聯建立業界與學界合作平臺,每年建教合作金高達2、3億,替成大建教合作開闢新的疆土,不僅提供師生磨練實務經驗的機會,更提升教學研究能力,也揭示了產官學合作的新起點,推動國家經濟與產業發展的同時,守護臺灣環境資源,例如,1990年至2018年執行經濟部的「太陽能熱水系統推廣獎勵辦法補助作業委辦計畫」;2004年起迄今,配合行政院環境保護署環境保護人員訓練所,提升各類環保技術人員的污染防制專業,維護環境安全。

2011年,研究發展基金會與台達電子文教基金會董事長鄭崇華一同捐款興建孫運璿綠建築大樓,這座「綠色魔法學校」,是臺灣第一座零碳綠建築,採用13種綠建築設計手法,達到節能65%,較一般辦公建築物減少51.7%的碳排放,是亞洲第1個取得白金級標章的教育大樓。這座建築,也成為研究發展基金會的辦公室,在每日的工作中,服膺聯合國的永續發展指標,善盡地球公民的義務。

1993年研發基金會核准設立的公文(成大研究發展基金會提供)

1999年綠色魔法學校開工動土(成大研究發展基金會提供)

2011年創會董事長馬哲儒(右)題字贈予基金會(成大研究發展基金會提供)

國際生薈萃,開拓國際視野

1995

arrow-right